S Ranked Burden Tamer (10)

Translator’s Note:

5-2-2020

This is as good as any time to mention this, but Japanese has a few words for ‘you’ and none of them are used often in the real world as they’re all seen as rather disrespectful. Loig uses 手前 (temee) to refer to Randall (and pretty much everyone else) which is only one step short of the incredibly disrespectful 貴様 (kisama) which is usually translated as ‘you bastard’ or ‘you son-of-a-bitch’. To put it simply, Loig looks down on everyone around him to an extreme. Feydeau refers to Randall as お前(omae) which is only slightly better than  手前 (temee) while Mayle isn’t necessarily respectful or disrespectful, simply calling him Randall and Quella (and Nina) is the most respectful using Randall-san.  Both 手前 (temee) and 貴様 (kisama) are seen as derogatory terms while お前(omae) is often used in a derogatory way. If you want to read more about the usage of ‘you’ in Japanese entertainment and media, I like the way this website lays things out. Loig’s choice of words (and Feydeau’s to an extent) tend to be gruff or impolite in general.

Alright that’s all for the language lesson for now. I hope you enjoy,

tom


Chapter 10 Return Report (Part 2)

Loig felt looked down on and yelled out when things didn’t go as he expected.

[Don’t get carried away youuuuuuu!] 

[Stop it Loig]

Feydeau came to try and stop him, but Loig wouldn’t quit.

[Why didn’t you properly do your job and protect the luggage when we were struggling!? Huhhhh!?] (TN: てめえがしっかり荷物だけでも守ってりゃあんな苦戦なんざしなかったんだぞ!? ぁあっ!?)

[Struggling…?]

[Tsk…]

That was a surprising word to hear come from Loig mouth. I hadn’t seen or even considered those four struggling while I was leaving the dungeon.

[Loig did poorly as the vanguard, and Quella got injured because of it.]

[Oi! Mayle, you…!]

[Quella did?]

I could certainly see some blood that had gotten stuck on Quella’s robe. It didn’t seem like it was blood splatter from anyone or anything else. 

[Ahaha… I’m fine now…]

Healers were fundamentally poor at using their magic on themselves. At the very least, there’s no such leeway to try and treat yourself when in a dungeon. 

That would make sense…. But it’s unexpected that they would be cornered to that extent.

[Well if you’re fine now, you can just change robes.]

[Huh?]

I gave a signal to Ace to take out the robe from the treasure chest and had him place it on the desk.

[Just now… what was that…]

Feydeau started to ask about the incredibly strange sight of the floating luggage, but Quella’s shout drowned him out.

[This…! Isn’t this robe just as good… no even better than my current robe!?]

[Wha!? Isn’t Quella’s robe one of the church’s sacred artifacts?!]

[Where the hell did you…]

Mayle started talking before I could reply.

[…yeah. It’s a reward for beating the floor boss.]

[Haaahhh!? You mean those 5 minotaurs!?]

Loig raised his voice.

[There are some other things too, so wait just a second.]

Loig smiled maliciously as I started to get everything together.

[Hooo. So you actually can be useful once in a while. If there are other things like that, then this shouldn’t be a waste of time. Oi! Did ya get that? Leave everything right here, yeah?]

[Everything…?]

[Yeah you heard me! It was your fault that we struggled to get back here barely alive this time you small fry! You’re not useful for anything! Just like always! You shouldn’t get any of the loot.] (TN: おめえに報酬がいかねえのは)

[Oi, you idiot!]

Feydeau stopped Loig from going further but it was already too late. It had already been made public in the guild that the party’s loot was not going to be evenly distributed.

[I’ll hear about this topic in detail from Randall-san.]

[Oh…! Oi you! You get it… right?]

Loig tried to grab my arm again, but Ace stopped him.

[What’s this…]

Something unseen had seized his arm. This is a useful thing to know for battles. I made Ace visible using the power of my ring.

[Wha…]

[Hiiii…] (TN: Japanese SFX for an eek or eep. Pretty sure it’s Quella making the noise)

[……]

[This is…]

All four of them let out a surprised voice.

[The dead minotaur became your companion.]

[Wha… you should be a tamer right!? How is this guy following you when he’s dead…]

[Didn’t you say Rei was also dead?]

[But…]

For some reason, the look on Feydeau’s face had warped into one of agitation after seeing this incredible sight.


Translator’s Note:

5-2-2020

Whelp that was a bit quicker. The last part was short and this one was pretty short too so I said hell why not and finished this part. Speaking of that, the length of any of these posts isn’t something I arbitrarily decide. I just translate the author’s original uploads to syosetu by the parts he posted at once. Unfortunately for you all (and probably fortunately for me), this means parts are kinda short, at least for now.

Also since it’s been about a couple weeks since I’ve started and I’ve gotten through 10 parts, I again just wanted to thank you all. It’s fun knowing that other people are enjoying this as much as I am. In other news, the introduction of the main heroine is about a dozen chapters away yet. I’ll try my best to get us there as quickly as possible. Personally, I’d like to see Quella stay with Randall or at least join him at some later point since I thought she was nice and couldn’t really do much about the party’s behavior, but that may just be because of the fact that I have come to expect (an sometimes enjoy) cliche harem-like developments. Oh well.

Thanks and stay well,

tom

10 thoughts on “S Ranked Burden Tamer (10)

  1. You know for all the mistreatment and abuse the MC goes through, I can’t help but think it’s his fault and is rightfully deserved for being so suicidalably naive.

    Liked by 4 people

    1. Damn, my bad i forgot this. Thanks for the translation. This is enjoyable honestly. I want to know more about his development after this

      Like

  2. Ah I’m loving this! Even with the short chapters they still get to the point fairly quickly.
    No need to rush too much. Thanks for the chapter.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started