S Ranked Burden Tamer (15)

Chapter 15 Statements (Part 2)

We entered the other room and talked about the circumstances surrounding this matter. Nina-san asked me some questions and we talked about my treatment up until now as well as the details of my being made into a decoy for the floor boss this time around. At this point, Nina-san let loose with a sigh.

[At any rate, that was a stupid thing to do. For them that is.]

[I know right?]

[No I don’t mean what we were just talking about, I mean leaving behind Randall-san, you know?]

[Huh?]

Nina-san’s words were beyond my expectations.

[Surely you mean because I became stronger after Rei died…]

[No, I’m talking about when Randall-san was a Tamer.]

I thought she was joking at first, but in contrast, Nina-san’s eyes told me she was serious. Due to her composed nature, it was hard to tell exactly but… Anyway, from an outside perspective, I wonder if the guild in particular thinks that I was the one who supported the party. Could it be something like that…?

[When I was a tamer, I only carried the luggage and was pretty much useless you know…?]

[It’s the opposite. The ability to make up for the party’s shortcomings even while carrying the luggage was surely only possible since you as a Tamer had the unique ability to call upon your partner. Having the skills to do that, and furthermore, being able to protect yourself while taking part in an A-rank or higher quest makes you quite valuable.]

[Is that so…?]

Even as Nina-san continued along with her remarks, I still find myself immediately thinking that what she is saying is not quite right.

[Otherwise, the job known as “Carrier” wouldn’t exist.]

Aah….. A “Carrier” is quite literally someone who is meant to carry things, but other than that they are made to move people and bring things into the dungeon. It was the type of job where you weren’t just in charge of carrying the luggage. (TL: Check TL note at the bottom.)

[Randall-san was originally the party member who would carry the luggage and scout for enemies. You alone would use your familiar to watch out for the others, and really, without you, the party would still not be S-Ranked yet. We were all holding you back.]

[It was to that extent…?]

Naturally, the guild was the one who decided the ranks. S-Ranks in particular could definitely be said to be the face of the nation. Of course, each individual party member was not recognized as S-Rank, but rather the party as a whole was said to be S-Rank.

[I didn’t have the leeway to worry about since Loig-san kept causing problems, but I intended to bring up this matter if Feydeau-san began to take actions to remove Randall-san. But… I didn’t expect for things to turn out like this…]

Nina-san was clutching her head.

[I just want to confirm for the time being but, Quella-san and Mayle-san alone could join with Randall-san as the party leader…]

[No way.]

[Okay…]

Having seen the circumstances, Nina-san quickly backed down. Well, considering Nin-san still asked like she had nothing left to lose after seeing how things played out, I was aware that it was a serious problem.


Translator’s Note:

5-17-2020

So this part. It was… tough? Stupid? Obnoxious? Yes. Oh and also still really short (sorry bout that). Where my TL note is in the text is the worst part of it all. I can’t tell if my translation are bad, the original is bad, my ability to think through it is bad, or what but I think I got it to an acceptable place. The whole discussion of “Carriers” is really screwing with me and just feels… out of place I guess? Anyway, TL;DR for that section, Randall is an important part of the team (someone finally says it).

Another thing I wanted to bring up/ask you all about is something that is just inherently different from Japanese to English. Since Japanese doesn’t tend to use “you” a lot, characters (especially more respectful ones like Nina) will use the person’s name that they are talking to frequently in their dialogue and it sounds kinda weird when translated directly to English. Take this part for example: “Randall-san was originally the party member who would carry the luggage and scout for enemies.” Nina never says “you” and just uses Randall’s name in the original Japanese dialogue, but in English, this sort of sentence makes it sound more like Nina is talking to someone who is NOT Randall, ABOUT Randall (even though she IS talking to Randall). Let me know if you want things to stay as I have been doing them, or if you want me to start throwing “you” in there to make it more fluid in English. I realize that some people like as few interpretative liberties to be taken as possible so I figured I’d ask, but if I don’t get many responses one way or the other I think I’ll go with fluidity from here on out.

Look for the next part in a few days.

Thanks and stay well,

tom

4 thoughts on “S Ranked Burden Tamer (15)

  1. Thanks for the chapter!
    And I like that you’re still using the name how you are, as the one above said, it makes it feel like its actually a Japanese novel not an american one. But if it really does both you that much how about trying to use both such as “You, Randall-san, was originally the party member who would carry the luggage and scout for enemies.”
    But whichever works best for you is fine, again thanks for the chapter.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Personally, i find that using the names instead of ‘you’ and ‘addon’s’ like -chan, -kun, -san or -sama adds a certain Japanese flair to the text. (We might as well read american novels if that flair dissapears!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm, I don’t mind either way. All I would ask is that it keeps the meaning.

    It’s one of the reasons I prefer translations that keep honorifics as it shows more in a single word than can often be shown once translated. It shows a lot about the attitude of the speaker and their relationship with the person they are talking to/about.

    I accept that maybe it doesn’t come across as natural in English but if you are reading a foreign novel you should be able to accept and understand that as part of the cultural differences.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started