S Ranked Burden Tamer (13)

Chapter 13 Farewell

Quella’s sudden declaration made Feydeau and the others go speechless. Mayle added even more fuel to the fire.

[Yeah…. Loig is useless. Moreover, the guild won’t ignore that statement from a little bit ago.]

[Huuh!? What did you just say!?]

Loig raged at Mayle, but she didn’t stop there.

[From the beginning, him becoming an adventurer created problems with the chivalric order. Unfortunately, the current problem should result in the dissolution of our S-ranked party.]

Mayle indifferently said as much.

[Between Feydeau and Randall, Randall is currently the better option.]

[Ugh…]

Feydeau hung his head without being able to say anything in return. Mayle sat there motionlessly and stared at me as if to show what she was thinking. If I didn’t think about any of what had happened, I admit I had thought she was cute, just like a small animal. But now, her appearance seemed only average to me and didn’t leave much of an impression.

I have to say, I am impressed that both Quella and Mayle had the nerve to say as much in this situation. In the first place, it was Mayle who had proposed making me a sacrifice. That proposal had clearly intended for me to die in the process. Even though she was a genius praised for her talent, she seemed to have been able to completely overcome the communication troubles that were stereotypical of magicians. 

[You only say that for your own convenience. I have no intention to form a party with either of you.]

I told them clearly.

If I think about it, the only reason they had all assembled in the first place was due to the huge value placed on Feydeau holding the title of the next hero. Loig already had accomplishments in his position as the nation’s shield. Mayle was a candidate for being the next sage. And Quella had already been designated as the next saint. It would be impossible for anyone to gather the strongest individuals in the country unless that person was a hero. At first glance, the teamwork appeared to be there, but I understood now that we had only barely made it through each battle thanks to everyone’s high capabilities.

If you looked at Nina-san’s reaction, it was clear the Loig would receive some sort of punishment. Responsibility for the party is placed upon the leader. It seems that talk of Feydeau being the hero candidate will be nonexistent for a while.

You could say I had been hasty in my judgement but… I doubt that they would have had the nerve to say as much to me if things had been as usual. While I was stuck in my position in the party, those two should have been able to say something to me. “We are grateful that you are a part of our party.” I had never heard them express such a thought.

[Is it no good for me either?]

[Of course.]

I gave Quella an immediate reply. She agreed to leave me for dead at that time as well. Not to mention, I can’t be expected to so readily agree to accept someone who would be so quick to abandon their companion. Nevertheless, I never would have thought the party would collapse before my very eyes…

[Oh… is that so…]

Despite those two reluctantly giving up, Loig roared out once again.

[Are you kidding!? Why did you leave us as we were and not do anything sooner!? We only got injured because you were here acting all high and mighty, looking for a reward!]

As you would expect, those words were not something I could turn a blind eye to.


Translator’s Note:

5-6-2020

Well I’m just a little disappointed in that outcome tbh. I think this part explains well why Randall wants to go solo but he’s still not my favorite protag. Like really, you didn’t expect that they may betray you and leave you for dead at all? He could of also just left the luggage and been better off, but at least we’re to the point where Randall is putting them all in their place a bit. I hope like 50 chapters down the road they meet again and Randall shows how much better off he is.

Thanks and stay well,

tom

7 thoughts on “S Ranked Burden Tamer (13)

  1. This has to be the most mature and reasonable MC in the “betrayed party member” trope. Not overly emotional nor getting swayed by a pretty face. Instead of doing the edgy revenge shtick, he instead fucks them over legally and through proper channels.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. ‘Sage’ and ‘Saintess’? Considering how they acted in the boss room, those goals are a pipedream at best!

    Like

  3. Oooh I hope Randall lets lose on that idiot! Am glad he didn’t take any of them into his party, like he said they all left him to die without a second thought.
    Thanks for the chapter!

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started