S Ranked Burden Tamer (1)

Chapter 1 The S-ranked Party’s Burden

Excellent at both attacking and defending, while also guiding the party as its charismatic leader, the swordsman Feydeau.

The genius magician who graduated top of her class from the greatest magic academy in the country, Mayle.

Also known as the country’s shield, the former knight leader, Head Knight Loig.

A famous head priest while also being the youngest saint of miracles, Quella.

And finally, the party’s burden, me, Randall the tamer.

Certainly, compared to those four talented people, I was, regrettably, an ordinary person at most.

The only reason I was in the party was because I was Feydeau’s childhood friend; I understood that things were reaching their limit and it was only a matter of time.

[Feydeau! For how long do I have to pamper you!]

Loig’s gruff voice resounded from the next room over. The inns always have 3 rooms. A guy’s room for Feydeau and Loig. A girl’s room for Mayle and Quella. And lastly, the stables or some shed as my room. Due to the nature of Tamers, there will always be a familiar around. At first, I had a bed in the inn, but before I knew it, my treatment was the same as the familiar’s.

[Well that’s fine, but it’s lonely that I wasn’t called for until all four were gathered in one room.]

[Kuun…]

The one-horned wolf Rei was licking me as if to comfort me. He is the best partner for me who usually carries the party’s luggage even after tanking blows. Even now, he doesn’t forget to stay vigilant of our surroundings, sending instructions to the wolf spirits all around us.

[Awooooooooooo]

[Hey, look! That damn dog is loud, we can’t sleep peacefully!]

The true purpose of the noise wasn’t conveyed to Loig.

[I want to do something about it as well…]

The next thing I heard was Feydeau’s voice. I understood that Feydeau no longer thought well of me either. Nevertheless, I wasn’t expelled from the party due to the influential opinion of the two girls.

[Randall-san is trying his hardest as well. We can’t one-sidedly drive him out…]

[…Randall’s a good guy. He makes our meals.]

Quella and Mayle spoke respectively. As far as Mayle was concerned, I was something like a house pet, a good person whose little value came from giving her food. As things were now, Quella’s benevolent heart was the only reason I still had my place. 

[Well… whatever. I’m going to bed for now.]

[Yeah, tomorrow is the god-slaying dungeon.]

[A dungeon that can destroy even god… so. Let’s get motivated!]

[…I look forward to it.]

I made a noise as they moved around next to me.

[Oi! Randall! I hear you, you know! If that damn dog barks again you’ll pay for it!]

Loig was screaming this way.

[Well. Rei.]

[Kuun…]

It seems tonight’s watch would have to be finished with just the two of us.

When did this happen? It has been a while since I was first called the party’s burden, and I think I have still done my job well. Recon, keeping watch, carrying luggage, scouting…. All things I can do thanks to being a Tamer. I had intended to contribute as a handyman of sorts, and do my part no matter what, but it was impossible to keep up with 4 people who had genuine fighting strength. It seemed that I was the only one who thought it unavoidable that things would become this way when I could not gain experience at the same rate as them.

[I suppose it can’t be helped]

[Kuun]

Only Rei was there, licking my cheek, trying to set my mind at ease. I understood that somehow or another, after the next dungeon I would not be able to stay in this party.


Translator’s Note:

4-14-2020

Hi all. Hope you enjoyed the first chapter. I have a longer note at the end of the third chapter but for now I just wanted to say that I was was sort of liberal with name selection for the characters especially Randall and Quella. I tried to take the Japanese katakana and turn them all in to real names that made sense but those tow might have been reaching. Let me know whether the names are fine as is or if I should stay more true to the katakana.

Thanks

tom

P.S. I’ve read quite a ways ahead and I still can’t figure what (if any) gender Rei is so I went with male for now as Rei is a unisex name in Japan and it felt less cliche for it to be a guy. You know what I’m talking about with the whole “The familiar is actually a beautiful girl” trope in fantasy WNs and LNs nowadays.

3 thoughts on “S Ranked Burden Tamer (1)

  1. Thanks for the chapter!
    MC and party are looking down too much on support characters. Granted he can’t fight as well as them and levels up slower, but sounds like party is getting too dependent on what he does without realizing the value of it. Betcha dollars to doughnuts the party will barely be C rank in ability if get separated from MC for even just a few days. Granted fighting ability is important when fighting monsters, but they’re completely oblivious to importance of roles outside of fighting when traversing a dungeon. Scouting ability will let them know what monsters are ahead, estimate of what type or roles monsters have (like a goblin holding a staff, maybe a robe, and not much muscle is very likely to be a magician, although could be typical goblin who got all his stuff from magician killed.) Several dungeons have crisscrossing routes or part labyrinth to make it harder for adventurers to quickly pass through and raises chances of them getting lost and dying of dehydration or starvation so without a skilled mapmaker to keep track of where are or which route to take it’s real easy to get lost whether coming or going. Also, not like can just drop off and pickup gear and loot before and after a fight assuming something doesn’t come by to steal it during fight. So everything he carries, like a tent, food and water, is something not weighing them down during battle. From sounds of it they’re being really stupid and having him carry everything meaning if some monster’s special ability or a trap (pit, revolving door, teleportation,) separated the party he’ll be the only one with food and water until they manage to get together again which could take days along with having to fight battles solo instead of as a group. Main thing is keeping watch, while usually boring as hell and unglamorous, is very important as proper rest is necessary to restore HP and MP, remove fatigue, and recover mentally and physically. Otherwise could end up dead or injured due to a stealthy monster’s attack before even aware in danger.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started