S Ranked Burden Tamer (18)

Chapter 18

Statements (Part 5)

Surprisingly, the very next day an examiner who was an S-Ranked adventurer showed up, and so I was immediately called to the guild’s training facility. There were already people there when I arrived.

[Huh. So you’re the S-Rank candidate.]

A beautiful woman with red hair was waiting there. She had clear, fair skin with a slender body, carrying a long sword on her back, and a dignified, almost defiant look in her eyes.1 The slightly longer ears probably meant she was a half-elf. Based on all of those features alone, I knew who she was.

[The Kensei… Luminous-Libest.]

[Correct! Heh-heh. So I’ve become someone famous huh!]

Someone who had been blessed with the skill of a 【Kensei2】 which is said to occur only once every thousand years, she was a living legend who was also the youngest to be acknowledged as single-handedly having the skill of an S-Rank. The Luminous Gale.

[Umm… is it fine to rush this so much? You’re pretty busy right?]

[Yeah… aren’t all S-Ranks busy?]

Setting myself aside, it seemed that she was busy. S-Ranked adventurers’ time was valuable.

[Yep yep. Well]

Luminous began some light warmup exercises. She had been completely carefree up until now.

[Alright!]

── ‘Buwa’

As soon as Luminous finished her warmups, the wind around me started to whip up suddenly as if she had simply decided to flick a switch. It looked like her entire body was shining. The S-Rank adventurer before me was emitting an aura so overwhelming that I unconsciously took a step backwards. 

[What the hell…]

I was able to handle the aura head on thanks to Rei’s support, but I could physically feel that she was on a completely different level than us.

[Ready?]

Luminous lowered her stance and put her hand on her sword.

[──!?]

At that moment, the air around me changed again. From there, she had seemed to kick it up another notch. My whole body shuddered from her aura. Even though Luminous should have been smaller than me in size, she seemed to swell up to many times her actual size.

[Rei! Ace! I’m relying on you two!]

『Waoooon!』

『Gumoooooo!』

Thanks to the two roars, Luminous’ overwhelming aura had been almost completely erased. That was good. As it was, I wouldn’t have even been able to move if we hadn’t gotten rid of it.

[Heh. Interesting. I had heard that you were called a Necromancer… well then, let’s go, yeah?]

Luminous’ figure instantly disappeared from my sight. The next moment, Rei was blown away.

[Huh?]

『Gumooooo!』

Ace jumped towards where Rei had been blown away from and swung down his axe at that spot.

[You’re too late?]

『Gumooooo!?』

Ace’s axe only left a cloud of dust after being seemingly sucked into an afterimage of Luminous. She was already no longer there.

『Kyuuoooooooooooon!』

However, Luminous didn’t have the leeway to shift it into a counterattack. Rei immediately moved to attack her.

──‘Gakin’

[Heh… both already have more strength than A-Class… stronger than the average minotaur.]

[Is that so? That was great, Ace.]

[Of course, you too.]

『Kyuuoooooon!』

──‘Gakin!’

Amazingly, Luminous continued to parry the two’s attack even as she kept talking. Based on her composed movements, it seemed she still had much more to give.


Footnotes:

1. The actual term used here is tsurime (ツリ目) which is basically an anime art style for eyes that is used to convey strong will or pride thus my use of “dignified” instead. I suggest looking up an example if you want a really good mental image.

2. Kensei is an honorary title given to those who have mastered swordsmanship. It can be loosely translated to Sword Saint so just think of all those badass people with that title in the anime you’ve seen. I’m keeping Kensei instead of Sword Saint because I can.


Translator’s Note:

5-31-2020

Forgive me. Between playing some Warzone with friends, a different friend’s 21st birthday, and picking back up A Certain Magical Index (not sure why I ever dropped it tbh), I kinda procrastinated this part pretty badly. Sorry bout that. Hopefully, a new character at least partially makes up for it, but if not, I’m going to try my hardest to get the next part out before Tuesday. Cross your fingers.

I also decided to make a switch from in text TL notes to footnotes. I think it makes it look cleaner and lets you just enjoy the story if you couldn’t care less about my little interjections. Let me know if there are any problems with the footnotes. I had to use the HTML editor on WordPress and I’m not super comfortable with any coding in general, but I think I got things working properly.

Thanks and stay well,

tom

3 thoughts on “S Ranked Burden Tamer (18)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started